Cheshire Constabulary Regattas & Results

Previous trophy winners - at bottom of page...


Cheshire Constabulary Regatta,
Wednesday, 10th September, 2008
Winsford Flash Sailing Club

With no summer to speak of and recent days of continual rain, the regatta took place on a day of virtually dry weather; a welcome change. Despite the regatta lacking support from surrounding forces, the numbers attending also gave the event a welcome fillip after recent years' attendances. This was largely due to 8 of the 12 boats coming from Avon & Somerset Constabulary. Winsford Flash S.C's. Bill Gover was again the Race Officer and as usual, provided suitable courses for the prevailing wind which came twisting over the trees by Buoy '8'. The forecast had implied that winds would pick up during the afternoon.

Race One got away on time using the Outer & Inner Marks for the start line and heading for Buoy '8'. From there a 'lead boat' guided the fleet on reaches down the lake via '7', '6', '1', '5', '2', '3' and back through the Inner/Outer marks. The fastest handicap boat, the Phantom, sailed by Ken Daniels took the lead early closely followed by Ian Ingram, this time sailing a Laser recently acquired. In the fairly light conditions from a SSW direction, the wind would gust, change direction then drop, making the beats a lottery and it paid to stay to the centre of the lake when tacking up-wind.

Behind the two leaders, Dick Sivers struggled to keep up, giving Rob Allen with a Laser Radial a chance to get closer. The Avon boats, with Jeff Hines helming the RS Vision and Malcolm Dykes helming a Comet Trio followed, with Rose Broad in the second Comet Trio close on their heels. Bob Lowrie and Jeff Stratford had given up there usual sail together in the RS Vision; Bob struggling with a Laser whilst Jeff sat it out safely in a Topper. Jim Shaw (Pico) slowly got away from Pete Highway in the second Pico but positions remained something of a lottery throughout the race with the wind coming from one angle, then another, so that tacking decisions become something amounting to guesswork. Meanwhile Daniels and Ingram forged ahead with Ingram winning the race by some 18 seconds on corrected time.

After lunch provided free as part of the entrance fee, Race Two - and the wind had increased only slightly. A slight alteration to the start line comprising the Outer & Middle marks only with the first beat to a Buoy 'X' placed near '8' but slightly towards the middle of the lake, then after '6', a simple figure of eight to include Buoys '2' & '5' and back through the Inner/Outer marks. That is not to say that the conditions were any easier and the odd capsize was liable to take place by gybe marks at '6' and '2'. With Daniels having a poor start, Ingram got away to be well ahead of the rest of the fleet with Sivers second and Hines third. Daniels eventually got ahead whilst Sivers slowly fell away by the end of the race. The RS Vision with Jeff Hines & Steve Butler had an excellent race to record their best result whilst Ingram having momentarily capsized, was fighting to keep up with Daniels. Nevertheless, Ingram was again the winner by just 8 seconds on corrected time.

The Avon & Somerset Constabulary contingent whose support assured the success of the regatta.

For Race Three the wind had hardly changed and the expected increase never arrived. Nevertheless, bodies were getting tired vying with the conditions which although were never above F2, remained somewhat difficult to contend with. The odd gusts made for pleasant planing but on the beats a quick alteration in strength and direction was liable to tip a boat at the wrong moment resulting in a scramble to recover. Bob Lowrie, who had arrived bearing bruises from a bit of Laser practice beforehand, found himself overboard whilst Rose Broad in the Comet Trio managed to injure her hand and was forced to come ashore early. Again Daniels and Ingram fought it out ahead of the rest with Ingram overtaking Daniels at one point. By the finish it was three firsts in a row for Ingram. As in previous races, the slower handicap boats - the Topper and the Picos - did a lap less and Jim Shaw found himself with his best result of the day, 4th.

Prizes were presented on behalf of the Acting Chief Constable by Det Supt Richard Strachan who is Vice Chairman of the Cheshire Constabulary Sailing Section. He also thanked the Avon & Somerset for their strength in numbers which had done so much to make the regatta successful.


Cheshire Constabulary Regatta, 2008
(2 races to count - 1 discard)


Force Class Race
1st Ian Ingram West Midlands Laser 1 1 1 2
2nd Ken Daniels Metro. Phantom 2 2 2 4
3rd Richard Sivers Northants Laser 3 3 dns 6
4th Rob Allen Cheshire Laser 4 4 3 7
5th Jeff Hines/
Steve Butler
Avon & Som. RS Vision 6 4 5 9
6th Jim Shaw Avon & Som. Laser Pico 9 6 4 10
7th Malcolm Dykes/
Andy Butler
Avon & Som. Comet Trio 5 8 6 11
8th Rose Broad/
Dave Garlick
Avon & Som. Comet Trio 7 7 rtd 14
9th Mark Fordham/
Carl Stevens
Avon & Som. Laser 2000 8 rtd 7 15
10th Bob Lowrie Avon & Som. Laser rtd 9 8 17
11th Peter Highway Avon & Som. Laser Pico 11 10 9 19
12th Jeff Stratford Avon & Som. Topper 10 11 10 20
Click Here to view

Pictures of the Event

 (Pictures too large for your screen? - Press F11!)


Regatta Organiser:

PC Rob Allen
Congleton NPU Investigation Team
c/o East Cheshire Custody Facility
Cheshire Constabulary

Pochin Way
Cheshire CW10 0GY

Switchboard 0845 458 0000


Cheshire Secretary:
DC 2234 Paul Meeson.




Click here to view results of 2007

Click here to view results of 2006

Click here to view results of 2005

Click here to view results of 2004

Click here to view results of 2003


"Cheshire Police
Sailing Competition"

Previous trophy winners

1991 S. Hawkey - Cheshire

1992 G. Smith - W. Yorks
1993 N.A.J. Haggitt - W. Mercia
1994 N.A.J. Haggitt - W. Mercia
1995 A.V. Critchley/C. Jolley - Lancs
1996 A.V. Critchley/A. Cuddon - Lancs
1997 R. & A. Jenkinson - G.M.P.
1998 P. Heath - G.M.P.
1999 A.V.Critchley/W. Booth - Lancs
2000 S. Jenkins - Metro
2001 Not competed for
2002 Not competed for
2003 Ian Ingram - West Mids.
2004 Stuart Jenkins - Metro
2005 Alex Piggott - Nottinghamshire
2006 Graham Cook - Metro
2007 Ian Ingram - West Midlands
2008 Ian Ingram - West Midlands