Cheshire Constabulary Regattas & Results


Cheshire Constabulary Regatta,
Wednesday, 6th September, 2006
Winsford Flash Sailing Club


The annual Cheshire Constabulary Sailing Club Open Meeting took place at the Winsford Flash Sailing Club. Just 8 boats turned out and some familiar faces on the police sailing circuit were missing. For another year the Laser class were much in evidence. After a windy night, conditions looked set for a good blow. As it was the racing started in fairly light conditions with the wind managing to strengthen slightly by the end of the day.

Race One course was set with two beats in a S-SW wind. Just before the start, the wind veered slightly and it became a close reach to the first mark. Graham Cook in a Laser got ahead early together with Stuart Jenkins.  With the wind changing direction, the course lost any beats but conditions were not straightforward as the wind became fickle particularly near the marks on the 'club' side of the water. At the back of the fleet Avon's RS Vision was renewing this season's battles with Cheshire's Laser Vago. Roger Glass found his mainsheet unravelling soon after the start but managed to recover to be third position on the water. However, Dave Burrows in the GP14 had kept up well and secured the 3rd place on corrected time behind the winner Cook, with Jenkins second.

During the lunchtime the wind dropped leaving some buoys in the wind shadow. Buoys 'X' & 'Y' were introduced and positioned more towards the middle of the water than the fixed buoys. During the countdown for the start of Race Two, the wind had picked up slightly and veered round to the west leaving the rescue boat dashing around to alter the position of the first mark. Once more Cook and Jenkins were clear ahead during the first lap. The middle fleet battle between Glass, Sivers & Burrows found their positions changing throughout the race with Sivers just beating Glass over the line and Burrows, having some difficulties with the spinnaker, just falling a minute behind on corrected time.

For Race Three there was the hint of rain to come and the wind had gone round even more which enabled a start at one end of the water and a good long beat. All boats competed despite the first and second overall  positions having already been determined. With three boats on 8 points, there was a fight for third place spot overall. The wind at the start caught a number of boats out with Glass and Jenkins getting a flyer from the port end. Despite the wind continually rising, dropping and changing direction (classic conditions at the Flash...), Glass managed to keep the lead round the top mark and throughout half the race. Cook after an indifferent start, slowly made his way to the front to win with Glass gaining second place. This time, Burrows with crew Paul Meeson made good use of their spinnaker and gained an excellent third.


Cheshire Constabulary Regatta, 2006
(2 races to count - 1 discard)


Force Class Race
1st Graham Cook Met. Laser 1 1 1 2
2nd Stuart Jenkins Met. Laser 2 2 4 4
3rd Roger Glass Met. Laser 4 4 2 6
4th Dave Burrows/
Paul Meeson
Cheshire GP14 3 5 3 6
5th Richard Sivers Northants Laser 5 3 5 8
6th Rob Allen Cheshire Laser 7 7 6 13
7th Paul Welsh/
Sheila Welsh
Cheshire. Laser Vago 6 8 7 13
8th Jeff Stratford/
Bob Lowrie
Avon & Som.. RS Vision 8 6 8 14

Pictures of the Event


Regatta Organiser:

DC 2234 Paul Meeson.
Organised Crime Unit,
HQ Crime Operations,
Cheshire Constabulary
Clemonds Hey, Oakmere Road,
Cheshire. CW7 2UA

Tel: 07956-235324


Click here to view details of 2005

Click here to view details of 2004

Click here to view details of 2003


"Cheshire Police
Sailing Competition"

Previous trophy winners

1991 S. Hawkey - Cheshire

1992 G. Smith - W. Yorks
1993 N.A.J. Haggitt - W. Mercia
1994 N.A.J. Haggitt - W. Mercia
1995 A.V. Critchley/C. Jolley - Lancs
1996 A.V. Critchley/A. Cuddon - Lancs
1997 R. & A. Jenkinson - G.M.P.
1998 P. Heath - G.M.P.
1999 A.V.Critchley/W. Booth - Lancs
2000 S. Jenkins - Metro
2001 Not competed for
2002 Not competed for
2003 Ian Ingram - West Mids.
2004 Stuart Jenkins - Metro
2005 Alex Piggott - Nottinghamshire
2006 Graham Cook - Metro