Cheshire Constabulary Regattas - Previous Results



Cheshire Constabulary Regatta,
Tuesday, 23rd September, 2003,
Winsford Flash Sailing Club

Cheshire Constabulary provided the only Northern England Force regatta of the year.

The weather was bright, sunny, no rain but chilly, heralding what could be called the first day of Autumn. Wind came out of the north-west and provided conditions variable in strength and direction through what is known as the Cheshire Gap, blowing straight down the lake.

For the first race, ten boats made the start line in a fresh wind. However, by the end of the first beat it became apparent that the wind was liable to drop and change direction at any place on the water. Nevertheless, the RS400's soon got clear ahead with Pete Walters (Notts) leading the fleet, Andy Hall (Merseyside) second round the top mark and Andy Cuddon (Lancs), the leading Laser. Ian Ingram (West Mids.) turned up in an almost new Solo and settled amongst the Lasers for most of the race together with Dave Burrows (Cheshire) in his GP14. Runs and gybes proved a little tricky in the gusts and the GP14 succumbed near the end of the race and decided to retire. On corrected time, the Solo turned out as the clear race winner with Roger Glass who had started almost last, coming through to take second place.

Race Two, after a splendid lunch, heralded a slight increase in wind strength. John Hickman (Cheshire) in a Laser capsized early on and decided to retire in order to protect an already injured shoulder. The leading Lasers of Roger Glass and Stuart Jenkins hounded the second RS400 of Andy Hall. Paul Meeson (Cheshire) going well in his Laser and in close attendance had a racing error by going the wrong side of a limit buoy and ended up disqualified. Pete Walters and Simon Judge in the leading RS400, found the course and conditions difficult and although they had well over a 3 minute lead on the water, they ended up 7th on corrected time whereas Ian Ingram's Solo was 6th boat on the water, just 4 minutes behind, but won the race on handicap.

The wind got up a little more for the last race and came down on the water in patches, twisting - reminiscent of PAA dinghy conditions this year. The stronger winds changed the pecking order slightly with Dave Burrows having his best race of the day and Stuart Jenkins gaining a satisfying second place ahead of Roger Glass. Andy Hall in the Merseyside RS400 ended his day by sailing the wrong course. Again the Solo won convincingly appearing at times, to plane as fast as the Lasers.

Prizes were presented by the Cheshire Constabulary A.C.C., Mr Graeme Gerrard - the Chairman of CCSC and himself a Laser sailor.

Although Winsford Flash Sailing Club has one of the smaller inland waters for police regattas, the conditions had provided some excellent close racing. The club support was provided by Jon Close (OOD), Bill Gover (Ass't OOD), Phil Duggan (Rescue), Les Owen and Roger Monks (Ass't Rescue). As with most clubs the same faces turn out to run such events every year and without such local support our regattas could not be run. Kim Meeson with Dave Burrows provided a superlative selection of fare which was included in the entrance fee. A good day was had by all.


Cheshire Constabulary Regatta, 2003
(2 races to count - 1 discard)


Force Class Race
Ian Ingram West Mids. Solo 1 1 1 1st
Roger Glass Met Laser 2 2 3 2nd
Stuart Jenkins Met Laser 3 3 2 3rd
Dave Burrows/
Richard Strachan
Cheshire GP14 rtd 5 4 4th
Richard Sivers Northants Laser 7 4 5 5th
Pete Walters/
Simon Judge
Notts. RS400 4 7 6 6th
Andy Cuddon Lancs. Laser 5 6 8 7th
Paul Meeson Cheshire Laser 6 dsq 7 8th
Andrew Hall/
Katie Allison
Merseyside RS400 8 8 dsq 9th
John Hickman Cheshire Laser 9 rtd dns 10th

Click here to view pictures of the event
(Pictures in this "photo-gallery" will come out in a separate window . The pictures are slightly larger this time and will take a little longer than usual to download. You may need to maximise the second window area [F11 key] to view in full)


2003 Cheshire Contact & Organiser:
Dave Burrows, Competitions Secretary, CCSC:
Tel: 01244 612446
ax 01244 612447