M.P.S.C. - Dinghy Section


Report &Results below..


London Emergency Services Sailing Championship
Tuesday, 30th June, 2015
Stokes Bay Sailing Club,
Gosport, Hants.

The Metropolitan Police Sailing Club [MPSC] held its annual regatta on the 30th June 2015 at Stokes Bay Sailing Club on the Solent.
In an attempt to increase the fleet size, the competition was titled as the London Emergency Services Championship with the invitation extended to members past and present of the London Fire Brigade and London Ambulance Service. Unfortunately this failed to serve its purpose as the only Paramedic in attendance was the mark layer Tim Gerhard who had left his Nacra 20 behind!

Ten entries [8 single and 2 double crewed dinghies] took part in the series of four races, braving horrific conditions of bright sunshine, 28 degrees and a solid fifteen knot easterly breeze. National race officer, Mike Rayden, set a triangle-sausage course with a windward leg of 0.5 NM which had the competitors sailing into two knots of tide as the hooter sounded for the first race at 11.00hrs.

The tide was a strong influencing factor as the fleet charged inshore from the start line towards the beach, banging the corner of the windward leg by the gybe mark to get as shallow as possible. The two Phantoms of Nick Mason [MPSC] and Simon Hawkes [Avon & Somerset] led the way up the beat, stretching their advantage after negotiating the top mark before surfing downwind on a broad reach towards the gybe and then leeward marks. Their lead was not threatened and it became a question of how much their handicap would affect the final placing. They worked hard back up the beat with Nick turning first at the top and holding off a concerted effort from Simon to overhaul him on the final downwind leg before eventually taking the first race by four boat lengths. Ian Ingram [West Midlands] sailing well in a Solo took second place on handicap, with Simon having to settle for third.

The winning race time was slightly over target and with the fleet well stretched at the finish, the course was shortened for the second race, which went into sequence almost immediately after the final finisher. Another clear start saw Simon and Nick ease their way to the front chased by Andy Moore [MPSC] in an RS Aero 9. It developed into a match racing contest between the two Phantoms with cover tacks going in upwind on the second beat as each tried to gain the upper hand. Simon took the line honours and handicap win, with Nick a close second and Andy securing third.

Taking into account the breeze, sea air and average age of the competitors, the Race Officer showed mercy and allowed the fleet to go ashore for lunch. [I won't add that we had also run out of coffee on the Committee Boat!] Race 3 started at 14.00hrs and it took a few moments for a couple of the competitors, who normally sail on ponds, to realise that the tide had slackened considerably providing the option of clear air a little offshore. This was taken by some of the sailors and with the breeze increasing slightly, the Lasers came back to the fore. Line honours were taken by Simon but the race winner on handicap was Graham Cooke [MPSC] in a Laser with Ian Ingram in the Solo securing second. Simon took third and a good sail from Tony Hyland [MPSC] in his Laser gave him fourth on corrected time.

The stiffening breeze saw the first white horses of the afternoon and allowed the course to be stretched a little for the final race. The fourth clear start saw Andy Moore tear away from the line pursued by the Phantoms. He was overhauled by the second tack and then we saw the almost inevitable sight of Simon and Nick duelling for the lead. Simon just held the edge approaching the leeward mark, coming around it from a broader angle whilst Nick stayed tight. This gave him the boat speed to create some space amounting to several boat lengths heading up the beat for the final time. This ultimately proved conclusive giving Simon line honours and the handicap win in the final race. Nick took second with Andy Moore third and John Oldham [MPS] claiming a creditable fourth in his Phantom.

The winner of the MPSC regatta 2015 was Simon Hawkes [Avon & Somerset] sailing a Phantom. Second was Nick Mason [MPSC] also in a Phantom. Third was Ian Ingram [West Midlands] in a Solo.

On the comedy front, there were dunkings for Andy Moore; Graham Cooke; Malcolm Dykes and Dave Hales [Avon & Somerset.] A prop wrap for the Mark Boat that had nothing to do with the author and a hydrostatic activation for one of the committee members who lost his feet disembarking from the RIB onto the beach.

Many thanks to Debbie, Cliff, Jerry and Aimee Harrison from Stokes Bay Sailing Club who were as professional as ever. Also to Andy Robinson, Tim Gerhard and the Race Officer Mike Rayden without whom we wouldn't have had such a good days sailing.

Jason Cranmer. MPSC.
[Rear Commodore - Racing]


Pos Sail No Type Helm Crew Club Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Nett Pts
1 1355 PHANTOM Simon Hawkes Avon & Somerset (3) 1 3 1 5
2 1386 PHANTOM Nick Mason Met 1 2 (5) 2 5
3 5564 SOLO Ian Ingram West Midlands 2 6 2 (7) 10
4 1182 RS AERO 9 Andrew Moore Met 4 3 (7) 3 10
5 31564 LASER Graham Cook Met (6) 4 1 6 11
6 1351 PHANTOM John Oldham Met 5 5 (6) 4 14
7 201362 LASER Tony Hyland Met (7) 7 4 5 16
8 880 LASER BAHIA Malcolm Dykes Dave Hales Avon & Somerset 8 8 (9) 8 24
9 1350 PHANTOM Ken Daniels Met 9 9 8 (11/DNF) 26
10 255 RS VISION Jeff Stratford Darren Crew Avon & Somerset (10) 10 10 9 29

Races in brackets () are discards.
There are 4 races scheduled in this series.
4 races have been sailed.
3 races have been counted..

Results provided with grateful acknowledgement to:
Debbie, Stokes Bay Sailing Club
The Promenade
Stokes Bay Road
PO12 2BL
Tel: 023 9258 1513
 Email: administrator@stokesbay-sc.co.uk


 MPSC Contact 2015:
Jason Cranmer







Trophies for the Metropolitan Police Open Dinghy Regatta

Trophy for Overall winner
First Overall Helm

First Retired Officer

Trophy for First Met Helm
First Met Helm













2001 - 2002 - 2003 - 2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 :-
Click here to view report/results/pictures previous regattas