M.P.S.C. - Dinghy Section - previous regatta:


This year the PSUK Dinghy Championships were hosted by the Dinghy Section of the Metropolitan Police Sailing Club at Netley S.C.


Metropolitan Police Dinghy Regatta
Friday, 3rd April, 2009
Datchet Water Sailing Club,
Queen Mother Reservoir, Nr Heathrow

Competitors get afloat but despite the best efforts, laying a course proved impossible.

An enthusiastic sixteen boats turned out at Datchet for the first police regatta of the season: a goodly number. Sadly the weather did not join in and with an intended delayed start planned for midday, boats got afloat only to find that the wind had no intention of blowing and our usual Race Officers, David & Rosemary Harrop found it impossible to set a course.

Competitors trundled back to the shore for an early lunch and waited in hope that the anticipated southerly breeze would eventually fill in. No such luck and, albeit the Committee Boat tried its best to compose a small course close to the shore for the remaining two races, the decision was made to abandon proceedings and everyone headed for an early shower, boats packed and a return home beating the Friday evening rush-hour.

Lunchtime and still no wind. Roger Glass discusses Laser matters with John Oldham and Will Lee

Competitors attending
Class Helm Crew Force
RS 200 Graham Cook James Cook Metro
PHANTOM Alistair Glen   Metro
PHANTOM Ken Daniels   Metro
ENTERPRISE Phil Chambers Moira Stretton Metro
Rooster 8.1 Stuart Jenkins   Metro
PHANTOM Andy Carter   West Midlands
SUPERNOVA Steve Tatton   West Midlands
LASER Roger Glass   Metro
LASER William Lee   Metro
LASER John Oldham   Metro
LASER Nick Mason   Metro
MERLIN-ROCKET Frances Gifford Peter Walker Metro
PHANTOM Simon Hawkes   Avon & Som.
Rooster 8.1 Richard Sivers   Northants
Rooster 8.1 Andy Taverner   Metro

The Organiser is seeking a later date in order to re-run this year's regatta: an update/details will appear here in due course.

Event Organiser:
 Stuart Jenkins
Tel: 07785 371303 (new Feb 2009)




Trophies for the Metropolitan Police Open Dinghy Regatta

Trophy for Overall winner
First Overall Helm

First Retired Officer

Trophy for First Met Helm
First Met Helm



2001 - 2002 - 2003 - 2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 :-
Click here to view report/results/pictures previous regattas