P.S.U.K. represented at the 2018 World Police Championships

In 2018 the World Police Sailing Championships were held in Croatia. Having won the PSUK Offshore Sailing Championships in 2017, Nick Mason and his team from the Metropolitan Police Sailing Club represented the PSUK in this World Police Regatta.


From 24th to 28th September, 14 boats competed in the World Sailing Championships hosted in Croatia with competitors travelling from as far as Austrailia and Hong Kong. Competitors were based at Marina Hramina near Zadar and sailed a matched fleet of chartered Bavaria yachts.

Racing was due to start on Monday 24th September 2018 but this was abandoned as the local ‘Orkan Bura’ struck bringing with it records gusts. A gust of 176km/hr was recorded in Split further down the coastline.

12 races were scheduled but this was reduced to a 10 Race series because of the wind conditions. Eventually the weather did improve and the Race Committee were able to run 10 races over the remaining days.

The courses were described as ‘Technical’ but amounted to a series of ‘Windward/Leeward Legs. Racing was close and enjoyable as was the social functions organised by Franjo Stančin for crews in the evening.

A notable performance was by John McVea and his team from PSNI who sailed well to achieve a credible 3rd place finish over all behind the Swiss team who were 2nd and the Slovenian team who won the event.

PSUK were also represented by Nick Mason and his Team (Met) who finished 6th overall and Bryan Tucker and his team (Dorset) who finished 13th.

See the list of results.

Next year (2019) is the Coppers Cup, again hosted by our organiser ‘Franjo’. This is a white sail event and whilst there is good racing to be had, this event also focuses on the more Social side of sailing. The Worlds return in 2020 and again I’m informed that this will be back in Croatia, which is a great place to go sailing……. when there’s NO BORA!!!!!  For further info go to www.iccadria.com

Met Police UK 2018
Front Row.
Andy Taverner - Tim Bewicke - Nick Mason - Andy Rowell
Back Row, Pete Walker, Fran Gifford, Stu Jenkins.