Devon & Cornwall Constabulary

31/05/19: Circulation received on behalf of the D&C Sailing Association

Devon & Cornwall Police Sailing Championships
held on Saturday, 18th May, 2019


Firstly, to those that attended the Regatta at Brixham, thank you. We had approximately 70 people on the water, 15 yachts and enough wind to get 4 decent races in. Again, a big thanks to Brixham Yacht club for hoisting the event, the boat owners for lending us their pride and joys, and our guests from The Royal Navy, GCHQ, Avon and Somerset and Warwickshire for joining us. It seemed like everybody thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Below is a link to some of the Drone footage from the first race. It looks quite spectacular especially on an HD screen- It is worth a watch.

 Tactics of ‘Nice Shirt’ and ‘Blues Breaker’ on the start line!

Drone footage of a Race-start from the D&C regatta 2019

 I don’t have the official results at the moment but these will be circulated at a later date.

Suffice to Say 'well done' to Graham Higginson and the Crew of Apiano who won the Devon and Cornwall Championship Plate and also Henry Scutt of Warwickshire Police who skippered Ocean to win the visitors' trophy.


Overall winner ‘Apiano’ ( Hunter Sonata )
Featured left to right:
Owner Steve Linley-Shaw
Skippered by Graham Higginson
Crewed by Matt Bragg and Chris Moss
Trophy presented by winning visiting skipper Henry Scutt (Warwickshire)


The Section's AGM was also held on 18th May  (Please note the new secretary is Jason Metcalfe as I am standing down due to impending retirement!)

Office holders for 2019/2020

Commodore - Andrew Munday
Vice Commodore - Rob Savage
Treasurer - Jon Bancroft
Secretary - Jason Metcalfe


A reminder for those that have not joined the sailing section yet but enjoyed the regatta. You could be missing out on all sorts of sailing adventures. £20 for life membership gets you on the mailing list and the opportunity to learn or develop sailing skills at an RYA training centre for greatly reduced rates. This year the association is involved with trips to Greece, France, Channel Islands as well as numerous regattas. It is the best value £20 you will spend in your career.

Hope to see you all out there soon

Det Sgt Ian Tomlinson
Teignmouth Police Station




Devon and Cornwall Police Sailing Section Force Regatta 2017
 on Saturday, 30th September at Brixham YC

Update: awaits...

Jonathan Bancroft
07585 984250



Wednesday, 5th October, 2005
Venue:  Royal Navy Royal Marines Sailing Centre
for the Camber in Plymouth.

These were held on Wednesday 5th October 2005, The venue was the Royal Navy Royal Marines Sailing Centre for the Camber in Plymouth.

The Race Officer was Clive COLLIER assisted by Jacque LEE-HANSEN of Plymouth BCU. The day was warm and sunny; winds force 2 – 3 from the NorthEast. Also assisting the committee was Scott Ranft, Simon Beare, Dai Noon and Mark Helyer, the safety boat team.

Once again Devon & Cornwall Constabulary Force Dinghy Championships was centred on the Royal Navy Royal Marines Sail Training Centre for the fifth year, a fleet of Bosun dinghies all one design were made available to the competitors to take part in the challenge. The morning started warm and dry, sea smooth and no wind. Things weren’t looking too good. However the competitors arrived, the equipment was ready to go and all we were looking for was a little bit of wind.

At about 10.30 the scheduled time for the first race, the wind started to fill from the NorthEast. At this point the boats took to the water after a briefing from the Race Officer Clive COLLIER, and made their way to the start line off Millbay Docks. With the boats jostling for position on the start, the gun was fired and the fleet made their way to the first mark which was a buoy at North West Drakes Island to be followed by a port hand rounding to a wing mark off Drakes Island to return to the line.

Liam & Sue McGrathWith the tide ebbing throughout the race, the tactics were interesting in such light winds. The winners of race 1 were Liam & Sue McGrath, in second place Bob Bennell and Chris Rooney, and in third, John Carter and Scott Rothney.

Race two had a similar course to race one, the wind having infilled a little bit more raising to force 3, the same course, raced over two rounds. Several misdemeanours and mishaps were evidenced in this race which were the subject of special notes at the eventual prizegiving but the eventual winners of race two were Liam and Sue McGrath, second Chris Batten and Pete Bennet, and third Matt Boyling and Simon Roberts.

Due to the continued light winds, after race two the boats returned to the Camber for Lunch, all having to pass under the bow lines of the PONT AVEON, moored in Milbay docks.

Race 3 and 4 both started after lunch, a change in course and tide did nothing to interupt the winning crew of Liam and Sue McGrath, who took line honours again in both races, it was a battle for second and thhird spots which would determine the overall positions.

In race 3, second were Becky Le Cheminant, and Ollie Le Cheminant, and third Dave Pickles and Roger Hocking. Race 4 second were Dave Pickles and Roger Hocking, and third, Russ and Katy Mogridge.

That concluded the racing for the day. Competitors came ashore, tidied up their kits and gathered for the prizegiving.

An interesting situation with the points overall. One race was discarded so it was the best of three races to count, the clear winners being Liam and Sue McGrath of HQ, second overall, Dave Pickles and Roger Hocking, Plymouth BCU, and Third overall, Bob Bennell and Chris Rooney, Plymouth BCU.

Thanks are expressed to the Royal Navy Royal Marines Sail Training Centre again for the use of their fantastic facilities by Devon & Cornwall Constabulary staff. The prizegiving was conducted by race officer as Mr Ray LAWRY was unfortunately not available due to a D & C offshore sailing team taking part in the Metropolitan Police Offshore sailing Championships, with dates clashing.




Final Position

Liam McGrath

Sue McGrath



Dave Pickles

Roger Hocking



Bob Bennell

Chris Rooney



Chris Batten

Chris Bennett



Becky Le Cheminant

Ollie Le Cheminant



Dave Forty

Steve Panter



Paul Clarke

Malcolm Hitchins



Russ Mogridge

Katy Mogridge



John Carter

Scott Rothney



Matt Boyling

Simon Roberts



Martin Orpe

Paul Higgs



Jay Dorman

Steve White



Harry Burrell

Steve Foale



Stuart Ellis

Dave Apps



The season has now drawn to a close for 2005 with planning well in hand for the season 2006.

Anyone wishing to join the section please contact DC 3679 Julie TURNER of Plymouth BCU.

Devon & Cornwall Constabulary
Sailing Section

Details of previous D&C regattas